A Virginia marriage license is a requirement to any couple who want to get married in the State of Virginia. It is a legal document that will allow people to wed under the law. The requisites may vary from one county to another thus it is necessary to check with the Clerk of Court of the county where you plan to be married.
When you and your partner have already set a date for your wedding day, make sure you apply for a Virginia Marriage License at least a month before the wedding ceremony takes place. It is not advisable to get the license too early because it has an expiration date. Its validity lasts only for 60 days and it can only be used in the State of Virginia. The couple must submit their application to the Circuit Court of the county where they will tie the knot.
The bride and groom need not be residents of Virginia but they should be together in applying for the license. They need to present the necessary documents such as certified copies of their birth certificates and any valid photo IDs which may be a driver's license, passport, state ID or military ID as proof of their identity and age and if ever they have been married before, they need to provide details or documentation of their previous marriages that will serve as confirmation of a dissolved marriage either through death of a partner or divorce.
Individuals who are sixteen years old are allowed to get married in the State of Virginia given that they have been given consent by their parents or legal guardian through a written consent notarized by a lawyer or if the parent or legal guardian personally gives consent before the presence of the person issuing the license. Under special provisions of the marriage laws of Virginia, underage couples are permitted to wed if the girl is pregnant but still consent from parent or legal guardian is needed.
The Justice of the Peace or a minister of any denomination can perform the wedding ceremony. The officiant needs to sign and complete the marriage license and this will be forwarded to the clerk within five days from the date of marriage.
There will be a nominal fee of $30 payable only in cash. There is also no waiting period for the license and no blood tests and physical exams required.
Proxy, common law, same sex and covenant marriages are not allowed to get Virginia Marriage License, but cousin marriages are permitted.